The English language

Standard

It is very well known that the US and the UK are two English speaking countries, but even though the world is shrinking due to TV and the Internet, there is still a huge language difference. Except, unfortunately the word “like” has slipped into every day language, especially among teens and young adults, via American TV shows.

I left the UK almost thirty years ago. I have lived in Europe, the Middle East, Canada and finally America. So now that I have returned, I find myself a stranger in my homeland, well almost . . . some things never change LOL.

Let me say, from now on, I will not go to the bathroom (loo), get in an elevator (lift), open the trunk (boot) or fill my car with gas (petrol).

So long for now or should I say “Cheers.”

Leave a Reply

